[HN Gopher] Stripe's real pricing: a primer
       ___________________________________________________________________
        
       Stripe's real pricing: a primer
        
       Author : AnhTho_FR
       Score  : 355 points
       Date   : 2022-12-09 11:01 UTC (11 hours ago)
        
 (HTM) web link (github.com)
 (TXT) w3m dump (github.com)
        
       | OmegaPG wrote:
       | We are paying roughly 9% fees to stripe which includes currency
       | conversion charges.
       | 
       | So if a customer pays us $100, we are getting $91 to our bank
       | account which is absolutely ridiculous.
       | 
       | If anyone looking for next $10B-$100B business idea, work on
       | making the transaction fees to 1% and you can take business from
       | stripe and PayPal immediately.
       | 
       | Wise.com is doing this and I hope more such companies work on
       | this.
        
         | [deleted]
        
         | nomilk wrote:
         | Could crypto help here, at least for customers who have some in
         | a wallet ready to use?
         | 
         | When I checked about 2 years ago, transferring bitcoin from one
         | wallet to another was negligibly cheap, although I think it
         | took about 20 minutes for the seller to be certain that the
         | bitcoin had been sent to them (too slow for most website
         | payments).
         | 
         | Curious to know if crypto could solve this problem though, if
         | not now, maybe in the future. If some of the 9% fees were
         | passed on to customers in the form of lower prices, it could be
         | quite appealing and give a price advantage (if only a few %)
         | over competitors.
        
           | withinboredom wrote:
           | Crypto is too volatile to really make day-to-day purchases
           | realistic.
        
             | mattdesl wrote:
             | USDC + L2 would be a suitable protocol for day-to-day
             | purchases and nearly 0% fee, at least for those already in
             | the system. But most of this tech is still basically in
             | beta.
        
         | searchableguy wrote:
         | Does stripe restrict payout currency to INR in India?
         | 
         | Can you add a bank account which can handle alternative
         | currency payout and let your bank handle do conversion?
        
           | merek wrote:
           | I'm not an expert, I think by default they payout in the
           | currency of the country that your business is located in.
           | 
           | In not sure about India, but in AU, we have the option to
           | receive USD payouts to USD accounts in Australian banks, so
           | you can avoid Stripe's conversion fees. But now you have USD
           | in an AU bank. What are your options? Convert to AUD at the
           | bank's terrible exchange rate. Or send the money to a US bank
           | (or Wise), paying horrendous international transfer fees.
           | 
           | I hope I'm missing something but I don't see this offering
           | from Stripe as being very useful.
        
             | etothepii wrote:
             | Not sure about wise's offering in AU but CA and UK you
             | could just receive the USD into your AU Wise account and
             | pay basically nothing <.5% for FX when compared to spot.
        
             | searchableguy wrote:
             | I don't know about AU banks but in India, most big banks
             | allow you to convert at 0.3-0.4% + FIRA and interbank
             | charge which is around $10. Not great but it's better than
             | stripe for bigger amount.
             | 
             | You can also get a multi currency bank account. There are
             | some options available to Indians which provide US based
             | ACH and IBAN. Be careful with FEMA compliance.
        
             | chinathrow wrote:
             | > In not sure about India, but in AU, we have the option to
             | receive USD payouts to USD accounts in Australian banks, so
             | you can avoid Stripe's conversion fees.
             | 
             | I tried that, didn't work. I opened a local USD account in
             | my non-US country and tried to add it for payout to Stripe.
             | Stripe only allows (at the time I checked, please correct
             | me if that has changed) US based USD accounts with ACH
             | routing information.
        
         | [deleted]
        
         | locallost wrote:
         | But wise.com is not a card processor?
        
           | OmegaPG wrote:
           | Yes. They only do bank to bank. But there is definitely a
           | business model here.
           | 
           | If you can offer subscription model and can do bank to bank
           | transfer with 0.5% fees, you will disrupt the whole
           | subscription industry relying on visa/Master card monopoly.
           | Not only this, banks also charge very high currency
           | conversion fees which you can disrupt.
           | 
           | You of course need to build lot of things from scratch but
           | with most of the banking now a days going online with new
           | APIs, it is possible.
        
             | locallost wrote:
             | Thanks, I don't doubt that, just wanted to know more
             | wise.com or if I misunderstood something.
             | 
             | You're right also, I live in Germany since a couple years
             | and and businesses taking money off your bank account is
             | definitely a thing here, I don't know for how long. But
             | mostly it's done by your electricity utility or by the tax
             | man, various fees e.g. the fee for public tv etc. I don't
             | know if there are costs to it, but probably yes.
        
           | AnhTho_FR wrote:
           | From my understanding, they are not. They provide _payment
           | cards_ but _don 't process payment by cards._
        
             | AnhTho_FR wrote:
             | I think what Merek meant is:
             | 
             | A workaround to Stripe fees for FX card payments would be
             | to have a set of Wise accounts to receive the money in the
             | local currency (one account or wallet for each currency)
             | _but_ then you 'd still need to pay Wise conversion fees,
             | once you want to gather the money from the different
             | wallets into a master account
        
         | Aeolun wrote:
         | Problem being that the credit card processor already takes 1%,
         | so that won't happen.
        
           | OmegaPG wrote:
           | Yes.
           | 
           | The disruption has to come from bypassing credit card
           | companies like Visa and Mastercard.
           | 
           | In India, almost every merchant is using UPI which saves them
           | fees of credit card processing.
           | 
           | The world banking is getting more advanced and technical and
           | I am sure payment gateways can bypass the credit card and
           | currency conversion fees with direct bank to bank transfer.
           | 
           | For larger Amount, we are asking our customers to use Wise
           | instead of stripe or PayPal as the saving for us is
           | significant.
        
         | koblas wrote:
         | Depending on where you're located you should potentially
         | consider a solution that looks more like Payment Processor ->
         | Hold in Currency -> Bulk Fx to Local currency. Typically
         | business level Fx processing is 2% - with 3% for credit card
         | fees.
         | 
         | At scale your Fx fees can be less than 2% of the conversion
         | amount, I know that at scale the fees can get down to <0.2% if
         | you're moving multiple millions (USD) in a month.
         | 
         | I know that both Adyem and Braintree will capture into local
         | currency, so you can avoid Fx fees by the payment processor
         | themselves.
        
           | whichquestion wrote:
           | Are there any companies arbitraging this % difference by
           | collating lots of different businesses transactions into
           | larger sums to then move into a particular currency for
           | business owners who transact in non local currencies?
        
             | [deleted]
        
             | withinboredom wrote:
             | I'm pretty sure Wise does something like this. Protip, you
             | can get a Wise business account and collect stripe payments
             | in a local currency, then bulk fx it to your local
             | currency.
             | 
             | Why Stripe isn't partnering with them, I don't know. My
             | bank partners with Wise to get the best exchange rate
             | possible (Bunq) when I'm out of the EU. It's fantastic.
        
       | tiffanyh wrote:
       | Most people also don't understand that with Stripe, you don't
       | actually have your own merchant account (this is why they can
       | setup your account so fast).
       | 
       | This can become hugely problematic as your business grows since
       | you're a sub-account of Stripe business, making you beholden to
       | their business practices and costs.
       | 
       | My comments aren't intended to sound negative. There's Pro's and
       | Con's to different business models. Getting quick access to the
       | robust tools Stripe offers comes at the cost of you giving up
       | some control over your companies operations.
        
       | heipei wrote:
       | Been using Stripe for years but now I realise that I don't even
       | know what plan I'm on and can't see what Stripe is charging me. I
       | get a monthly "tax invoice" which includes all charges done
       | through Stripe and comes out at ~ 2.9% of the volume, but I don't
       | see any line items for Billing or anything else. Where do I find
       | this stuff?
        
         | ezekg wrote:
         | Reports > Financial Reports > under "Fees" in the report.
        
           | heipei wrote:
           | Those are the same numbers as on the tax invoice, and in that
           | section it just says "Fees for all charges, including card
           | charges and other payment methods." Curious if that number
           | already includes charges for things like Subscriptions.
        
       | bredren wrote:
       | This came up two months ago, the pricing was described as
       | "insidious." [1]
       | 
       | I replied that this description could be extended to include how
       | it generated and associated unique customer IDs. The way it is
       | built now-a-days it is trying to be the central key for SaaS user
       | accounts. Effectively: store all your user data with us.
       | 
       | I thought it was some kind of oversight but it is most likely
       | about lock in.
       | 
       | [1] https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=33269824
        
         | jmacd wrote:
         | I am the original commenter you had replied to.
         | 
         | I am actually working on https://tier.run in part to help
         | create a clean separation of interests between billing (and
         | entitlement, and metering, and feature flagging) systems and
         | how you store and access application and user data.
         | 
         | With Tier we have `tier whois` [1] which lets you get the
         | Stripe Customer ID based on your own userId.
         | 
         | I'd love your feedback if you think there are improvements we
         | could make.
         | 
         | 1: https://www.tier.run/docs/cli/whois/
        
       | chasebank wrote:
       | When did stripe start charging extra 0.8% for recurring billing?
       | I remember building my first online business with stripe api
       | right when it came out and recurring billing was a feature, not
       | an add on.
        
         | corentin88 wrote:
         | In 2018: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=16766846
        
       | ryanackley wrote:
       | In the USA, there is a huge payment processing API industry.
       | Stripe is a great company and it has this family of products that
       | work great together but it has lots of competitors that have
       | better pricing and better service.
       | 
       | I work in the industry for a payment processor. It's not a
       | silicon valley startup (it's basically run by salespeople) but we
       | have way better pricing and you can get someone on the phone if
       | you have an issue.
       | 
       | Reading HN, you might think Stripe is the only option.
        
         | codegeek wrote:
         | Sure but the reason Stripe became Stripe is due to the fact
         | that they have an excellent API and dev experience. Most old
         | school processors are too difficult to setup and manage and
         | have horrendous APIs.e.g: authorize.net
         | 
         | Having said that, feel free to share your company becaise I m
         | always open to evaluatin for our company (low 7 figures ARR)
        
           | jrs235 wrote:
           | His email is in his profile.
        
           | nomilk wrote:
           | > the reason Stripe became Stripe is due to the fact that
           | they have an excellent API and dev experience.
           | 
           | That's their reputation, but it doesn't always stack up in
           | reality.
           | 
           | Recent example:
           | https://twitter.com/levelsio/status/1600316372344373249
           | 
           | Canonical HN example:
           | https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=30535572
           | 
           | The association of Stripe with simplicity and good dev
           | experience could be more due to Stripe's marketing/PR than
           | the views of devs who've used Stripe APIs, at least from the
           | few things I've read.
        
             | mgkimsal wrote:
             | >The association of Stripe with simplicity and good dev
             | experience could be more due to Stripe's marketing/PR ...
             | 
             | I don't think it's marketing/PR so much as a halo effect
             | and reputation from years ago. My experience with stripe 5
             | years ago was/is simpler and easier than it is looking at
             | it today. More products/services/options/requirements -
             | it's more complicated than it was years ago.
             | 
             | But looking at it for a project 5 years ago, it was
             | certainly simpler compared to authorize.net for what my
             | project needed. Just the UI alone to go in and manage/test
             | things was more straightforward and pleasant, even when I
             | hit issues and roadblocks. Authorize.net looked like it
             | hadn't changed much since 2005 or so when I'd looked at it
             | then. May be better now - haven't looked since 2017.
        
             | jobs_throwaway wrote:
             | my recent experience working with the Stripe API lines up
             | with this. Based on the reputation I was expecting a lot
             | less complexity and strange default behavior when it comes
             | to subscriptions/invoicing. Still a good dev experience,
             | but not the greatest, most straightforward API ever like
             | its reputation.
             | 
             | For example, Stripe applies discounts prior to proration.
             | So if a customer applies a $100 per month discount on a
             | $1000 subscription, and signs up halfway through the month,
             | they're charged (1000 - 100 * 0.5), not the more intuitive
             | ((1000 * 0.5) - 100). Nitpicky, but not what I expected.
        
             | acabal wrote:
             | Stripe did actually have a great API at one point, when
             | they just appeared. Their basics of charging a card and
             | managing subscriptions was incredibly simple and developer-
             | friendly compared to their competition at the time, like
             | Authorize.net or PayPal. I don't think PayPal even had a
             | real API back then - you had to use a `<form>` element with
             | hidden fields.
             | 
             | Of course things change, and now Stripe's API has been
             | rewritten to extreme complexity with scattershot
             | documentation and unintuitive terminology. (I sell
             | products, but in the API I have to sell prices??)
        
         | danpalmer wrote:
         | A common problem with payment processors is international
         | support. Stripe isn't perfect by any means, but they support
         | much more than than most of the US focused competitors.
         | 
         | As an example, a few years ago the EU brought in Strong
         | Customer Authentication (SCA). Stripe was one of the few
         | companies ready for this, being ready about a year before. I
         | used them at the time and adopted their SCA support and it
         | worked well.
         | 
         | We also happened to be considering alternative payment
         | processors at the time. Braintree had some basic support for
         | it, not fully ready, and seemingly undocumented. Other
         | suppliers didn't even know about SCA despite notionally taking
         | GBP payments.
         | 
         | Of course it's fine to only sell to the US market, but Stripe
         | is pretty good in many places and I suspect that's a
         | significant contributor to their popularity.
        
       | abuehrle wrote:
       | It's funny to observe the tide shift against Stripe on HN in
       | recent years. I think they are a phenomenal, once in a generation
       | company. Their APIs are beautiful (still, even though fewer
       | people agree these days) and the use cases that can be built upon
       | those APIs are endless and amazing. I always felt the pricing was
       | a steal for what the product delivered.
       | 
       | Their support, on the other hand :(. ! Maybe it will get better
       | with advances in LLMs, because I'd be shocked if I was ever
       | talking to a human.
        
       | anonymouse008 wrote:
       | So does this effectively mean Apple charges 25.2% in the base
       | case, and potentially teens-low twenties in low price point apps
       | ($10 and below)? PayPal, BrainTree and others seem to also be in
       | this range - so backing out market payment rates, the App Store
       | is not as egregious?
        
         | jbverschoor wrote:
         | Yup. For that 30% you get everything. Payment processing,
         | reports, coverage in all countries, vat handling.
         | 
         | But people like to bash Apple.
         | 
         | Thy don't bash other platforms or channels which charge 30% or
         | even more
        
           | Mystery-Machine wrote:
           | So it's 30% charged by Apple with monopoly and no possibility
           | to use something else vs 8% charged by Stripe. And you can
           | also switch to anything else. Sure, it's more work than
           | Apple, but freedom is also more work than being told what to
           | do and how to live.
        
             | sasoon wrote:
             | Apple is not just charging for payment processing, you get
             | access to the App Store marketplace with more than billion
             | devices. With Stripe you only get payment processing.
        
               | jmacd wrote:
               | Stripe payment processing fee is 2.9% + C$0.30
               | 
               | For the other fees discussed in this article, you do get
               | additional capabilities. Distribution is not one of them,
               | but it's not an apples to apples comparison.
        
             | [deleted]
        
             | jbverschoor wrote:
             | But stripe doesn't give you a distribution channel or any
             | other type of platform to build on. And it doesn't give me
             | access to x billion people with payment details on file,
             | one double click away, without any fraud
        
       | calme_toi wrote:
       | Totally agree on diversifying payment solution part.
       | 
       | But in terms of pricing, from what I have researched for my SaaS
       | website, Stripe is not bad at all.
       | 
       | When it comes to choosing payment solutions, we need to consider
       | the reliability/quality. You might be able to pay x% less fees
       | with other options but 0.2% more of the down time will cost you
       | much more.
        
       | poxrud wrote:
       | My biggest issue is that they keep all the fees in case of a
       | refund. Sometimes customers just change their mind, and this will
       | cost you. It will cost you a lot if you're selling high value
       | items.
        
         | solokhind wrote:
         | Same. We're losing thousands of dollars because customers
         | change their mind or made a mistake in their purchase, mostly
         | because we're dealing with high value items.
        
       | waylandsmithers wrote:
       | As a developer it's easy to forget how insanely hard it can be to
       | run a business. After all the time, effort, and energy that goes
       | into actually making and selling something, you still have to go
       | through all this additional nonsense just to get the customer's
       | money from their hands into yours.
        
       | edwinwee wrote:
       | There is no company (that we're at least aware of) on Stripe that
       | is using this combo of Stripe products and paying the "total
       | cost" outlined in the post. Our pricing scales with the size (and
       | needs) of the business. If a business on Stripe is large enough
       | to use our highest billing tier, quotes, revenue recognition, and
       | data pipeline together, then Stripe would've bundled the products
       | together. (And then we charge for them at the end of the month
       | with a volume-based rate of bundled products + payments.) These
       | products are built for the companies who've asked us for these
       | enterprise features and aren't necessarily meant to be used one-
       | off, as the post implies.
        
       | xhevahir wrote:
       | Seems like "A Breakdown of Stripe's Pricing" would be a clearer
       | title.
        
         | AnhTho_FR wrote:
         | Probably yes! Will think about this structure for next title,
         | thanks for the feedback!
        
       | ryanmccullagh wrote:
       | This is a native advertising piece. The author is associated with
       | a Stripe competitor.
        
       | joshe wrote:
       | It does seem that long term Europe should be segregated from the
       | www.
       | 
       | For small entities Euro compliance is impossible. Say for
       | Michigan's largest Mustang parts website. Euro's often respond
       | this they would never bother and their targets are big tech, but
       | illegal and not prosecuted is not the same as legal. And it is
       | telling that the law doesn't say "this only applies to corps with
       | more the 100 million in Euro revenue". It applies to all
       | companies and _individuals_. It should be possible for such a
       | site to  "opt out of Europe" and have safe harbor.
       | 
       | And there is no way it makes sense for the whole world's web to
       | be regulated by a Euro court. There is no reason for a user in
       | the US to see GDPR banners.
       | 
       | Maybe a great firewall to id Europe users, and if you use a vpn
       | to escape it US law doesn't recognize it as valid.
        
       | bastawhiz wrote:
       | I used to work at Stripe, specifically on Connect, and I want to
       | point out one thing that's not quite accurate:
       | 
       | > and there's also a transaction fee of $0.25 + 0.25% (in
       | addition to the cost of Stripe Payments and other Stripe
       | products)
       | 
       | This is not a per-transaction fee. That implies that the fee is
       | per-payment. This fee is per-payout, which is the ACH credit (or
       | debit rails transfer) to the account holder from their Stripe
       | balance. It's not uncommon for the payout schedule on accounts to
       | be at least weekly, so you have many payments worth of funds
       | batched together into a single payout. The per-payout fee of
       | $0.25 ends up being a lot smaller as a percentage in practice.
        
       | cutenewt wrote:
       | This is really clever marketing by Lago. Good inspiration for
       | other startups.
        
       | imchillyb wrote:
       | This is one of the _many_ reasons that banks will remain an
       | institution for a long time to come. Automatic Clearing House
       | (ACH, or Auto debit) comes with a host of consumer protections
       | that are completely lacking from payment processors.
       | 
       | I wish legislators would force all payment processors to play by
       | the same book banks have to play by; the same consumer
       | protections.
        
       | smca_ wrote:
       | [I work at Stripe] As a practical matter, this guide is somewhat
       | misleading in the sense that it very substantially overestimates
       | what a typical B2B SaaS business pays for Stripe.
       | 
       | For example:
       | 
       | * Cards pricing. The guide assumes a B2B SaaS business accepts
       | 100% of payments via cards. B2B SaaS businesses on Stripe tend to
       | encourage payments via bank transfers and other lower-cost
       | payment method, especially for their biggest customers, and we
       | try to make it as easy as possible for businesses to do this.
       | Bank transfers are priced at 0.8% in the US. The guide states
       | that "additional fees apply for bank transfers, additional
       | payment methods", which is not true. We encourage users to use
       | alternative payment methods for this reason.
       | 
       | * Stripe Tax. The 0.5% per transaction cost is incurred only in
       | jurisdictions where the business is obligated to collect taxes.
       | For US-based businesses, this generally represents a very small
       | fraction of total payment volume. (And, of course, the tax
       | collection itself is mandatory, and so some tax provider or
       | calculation engine presumably has to be paid for.)
       | 
       | * Stripe Data Pipeline. Including this as a default cost is
       | misleading. It isn't. While we think it's a great product
       | (especially if you have a sophisticated ETL pipeline), most
       | Stripe users don't find themselves needing it.
       | 
       | More broadly, I think it's important for onlookers to know that
       | OP is the founder of a business that runs on Stripe and positions
       | itself as an alternative to Stripe Billing. They seem to be
       | trying to write deliberately-provocative posts to go viral, as
       | described in this tweet:
       | https://twitter.com/byAnhtho/status/1601197512227885056.
       | Competition is good, and anyone is of course very welcome to
       | analyze Stripe's pricing. But, in the spirit of transparency,
       | we'd welcome a slightly more realistic analysis.
        
         | AnhTho_FR wrote:
         | Hi Sam,
         | 
         | OP here. I appreciate the inputs, we're big fans of Stripe at
         | Lago. We operate in the billing space, and are alternatives to
         | home-grown billing systems, Chargebee, Recurly, etc. and Stripe
         | Billing.
         | 
         | 1/ Some users use Lago as a complement of Stripe Billing, or
         | don't even consider Stripe Billing, and we built a native
         | integration with Stripe payments.
         | 
         | Out of transparency, the first lines we wrote in this post
         | stated that: "Disclaimer: This analysis is based on Stripe's
         | public pricing as of July 21, 2022. Some merchants may be able
         | to negotiate fees or benefit from grandfathered plans. Lago
         | partners with 'Stripe Payments' and can be used as a complement
         | or replacement of 'Stripe Billing'."
         | 
         | 2/ > 'write deliberately-provocative posts to go viral'
         | 
         | Thanks for quoting my tweet. I actually shared 2 old articles I
         | wrote in 2021 this week, that made the front page of HN,
         | unrelated to Fintech:
         | 
         | - One on my personal blog sharing what I learnt about press
         | relations, main message being 'don't waste money on an agency
         | if you're early stage' because I've seen this happen too often,
         | and too many founders asked me the same questions about this
         | topic [1] I was actually surprised it was read, as HN is known
         | for being more 'engineering oriented' than 'marketing
         | oriented'. - Another one about 'scouts' not being necessarily a
         | good thing for founders, with Sifted (TC for EU) which is a
         | position I stand for as a founder and as an investor, and I
         | think Europe should mature towards this topic [2]
         | 
         | The TLDR is: I've been writing about a wide range of topics for
         | a long time, things I like to share, things I stand for and
         | want to have an impact on and was grateful it resonated within
         | my community. Btw I think the HN ring vote is pretty strong,
         | and HN community very 'fierce' (at times), so I don't think we
         | could have got attention by just 'clickbaiting' and attempting
         | to go viral.
         | 
         | Like any startup, we're excited to share our vision of the
         | world, and this is why we're writing.
         | 
         | Lastly, here are two other examples of content that were
         | intended to spark a discussion in our community (and it did)
         | and don't bring much to Lago as a business:
         | 
         | a/ What not to say to someone who has just been laid off [3] I
         | wrote it after my partner was laid off and too many people
         | around him just did not know what to say, which amplified the
         | 'grief'. It reminded me of my personal history of grief, and
         | wrote the post. I received dozens of messages of people who
         | have been laid off recently, or whose friend/closed ones had
         | been fired. Founders reached out to say they would share it
         | with their team (it's not an easy topic to discuss).
         | 
         | b/ I recently shared my thought process about moving to the US
         | after YC, as it's a recurring question we have as YC founders
         | based in Europe. This sparked a lot of discussions and helped
         | me iterate on how I approach the question, in a scalable way. I
         | believe other founders learned things by the discussion it
         | sparked, some founders reached out to help me with the US visa
         | etc. Feel free to read it here [4]. Took me some time to write
         | it, but the main ROI was how I've been able to connect with
         | other founders, at the same stage, or 5 steps ahead, and learn
         | from them. And, based on the comments/discussions, I believe
         | other founders in the same situation benefited from this too.
         | 
         | My point is: not all content is written in an attempt to go
         | viral, but I just write about what I believe brings value, and
         | it happens to go viral (whatever you mean by that) when it does
         | have an impact. Regarding my tweet, I think a lot of people
         | wonder how to approach HN, and make a lot of rookie mistakes,
         | and I could also write about what I've learned. This would (if
         | I write it successfully) in fine help having better content on
         | HN.
         | 
         | YC says 'build something people want', I also happen to
         | (occasionally) write things people want. And there's no better
         | gift for a writer.
         | 
         | [1] https://anhtho.substack.com/p/pr-for-startups-is-it-only-
         | for... [2] https://sifted.eu/articles/vc-scout-programme-
         | problems/ [3] https://sifted.eu/articles/what-not-to-say-
         | layoff/ [4] https://github.com/getlago/lago/wiki/Moving-to-the-
         | US-after-...
        
           | tyre wrote:
           | I think the point here is that this post _was_ optimized to
           | try to go viral. Most startups won't have 4% as a minimum
           | revenue cost.
           | 
           | For example, you chose the most expensive Billing plan
           | (Scale), which includes things startups don't need. Similarly
           | assuming the most pessimistic payment mix where everyone is
           | using international cards along with currency conversion,
           | which will never be true. Similarly adding data pipeline.
           | 
           | It's not "Stripe's real pricing", as you're no doubt aware.
           | That's where it turns from informative to marketing.
           | 
           | If there's a way that Lago, or any other Stripe competitor
           | for any product, cuts down on fees, that's fantastic. There
           | are definitely ways to beat Stripe's fees on payments, for
           | example, though they're as difficult as the are
           | transformative.
        
             | AnhTho_FR wrote:
             | The point was showing how the pricing and costs adds up.
             | 
             | A lot of founders don't get what products they use at
             | Stripe and that the cost adds up as a % of revenue.
             | 
             | % of revenue makes sense for payment processing, does it
             | really make sense for SaaS products (billing, tax?) ?
             | What's the rationale?
             | 
             | About offering alternatives for fintech software (such as
             | billing, tax), with a pricing that does not take a cut on
             | revenue, this is exactly what we are building.
        
               | AnhTho_FR wrote:
               | Also the point of my initial comment was that even if you
               | consider this post optimised for vitality, pointing that
               | we are optimising on only that in our content seemed a
               | bit extreme, hence the examples.
        
           | hitekker wrote:
        
         | gamblor956 wrote:
         | _Stripe Tax. The 0.5% per transaction cost is incurred only in
         | jurisdictions where the business is obligated to collect taxes.
         | For US-based businesses, this generally represents a very small
         | fraction of total payment volume. (And, of course, the tax
         | collection itself is mandatory, and so some tax provider or
         | calculation engine presumably has to be paid for.)_
         | 
         | That's obscenely high compared to what we pay one of your
         | competitors for _more_ functionality than what Stripe Tax
         | provides.
         | 
         | Your customers are easily pay a 100% premium over alternatives
         | just to keep everything within Stripe.
        
         | mynameisvlad wrote:
         | > For US-based businesses, this generally represents a very
         | small fraction of total payment volume.
         | 
         | Didn't "S Dakota vs Wayfair" require sellers to charge
         | interstate tax regardless of physical presence in the state?
         | 
         | I don't see how it would be a small fraction given that.
        
           | mperham wrote:
           | Sort of. You need to do a minimum of business in the state,
           | usually $100,000/yr or 200 transactions. I don't have enough
           | customers in Utah to require tax payments.
        
             | mynameisvlad wrote:
             | That's fair. I'm guessing it's also state-dependent with
             | each state having its own rules.
             | 
             | I still would disagree on it being framed as "a very small
             | fraction" of payments even given those stipulations.
             | 
             | I would say, from the consumer end, it's been the exception
             | rather than the rule that I don't have to pay WA sales tax.
        
               | smca_ wrote:
               | To clarify, Stripe Tax is our product that helps you
               | _automatically_ calculate taxes.
               | 
               | If you'd like to do it yourself, you can manually define
               | rates at no cost:
               | https://stripe.com/docs/billing/taxes/tax-rates.
        
               | hermitcrab wrote:
               | I use a 'full-service' payment provider. I send the
               | customer to their shopping cart page. The customer buys
               | the software license from them. And they buy the license
               | from me. They are the 'merchant of note' and collect and
               | remit the VAT/sales tax. They pay me once a month, minus
               | fees.
               | 
               | So how does Stripe tax work? Can Stripe function as the
               | 'merchant of note'? If I am based in the UK and selling
               | to someone in the UK, Germany or the US, will it collect
               | and remit the taxes for me? Or just tell me how much I
               | owe?
        
               | mynameisvlad wrote:
               | Who said anything different or implied they didn't
               | understand this?
               | 
               | Nobody is arguing that Stripe Tax is not a valuable
               | product, or that the tax landscape is not extremely
               | complicated and worth 0.5% of a transaction.
               | 
               | I am, explicitly, saying that your framing as taxed
               | transactions being "a very small fraction" of US
               | transactions seems false. You are making it sound like
               | the Stripe Tax surcharge will generally speaking not
               | apply to a business, and therefore shouldn't be used when
               | calculating the amount your company charges.
               | 
               | Do you have anything to back up this claim?
        
               | motoxpro wrote:
               | From google:
               | 
               | " Understanding the state sales tax rules for your SaaS
               | business is difficult due to the many different
               | definitions and categorizations. SaaS for personal use is
               | taxable in Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts. SaaS for
               | business use is taxable in Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio."
               | 
               | Meaning that you don't have to charge tax in the majority
               | of states. Meaning that it can be negligible. IANAL
        
               | khuey wrote:
               | That's not a complete list (e.g. SaaS is taxed in New
               | York) but there are also large states where it is not
               | taxed (e.g. California).
        
               | mynameisvlad wrote:
               | From TaxJar, Stripe's own subsidiary, and also the first
               | result on Google:
               | 
               | > Alabama - SaaS is considered a taxable service.
               | Computer software is tangible personal property. (Source)
               | 
               | > Alaska - SaaS is taxable in Alaska. (Source)
               | 
               | > Arizona - SaaS is taxable in Arizona. (Source)
               | 
               | > Connecticut - SaaS is taxable in Connecticut. SaaS for
               | personal use is taxed at the full state rate, but SaaS
               | for business use is only taxed at the rate of 1%.
               | (Source)
               | 
               | > Hawaii - SaaS (and computer services) is taxable in
               | Hawaii. Hawaii's general excise tax applies to every good
               | and service not tax exempt. (Source)
               | 
               | > Iowa - SaaS is taxable, except when being used for
               | business purposes, then it is exempt. (Source)
               | 
               | > Louisiana - SaaS is taxable. (Source)
               | 
               | > Massachusetts - SaaS and cloud computing are taxable in
               | Massachusetts. (Source)
               | 
               | > New Mexico - SaaS is taxable in New Mexico. (Source)
               | 
               | > New York - SaaS is taxable in New York. (Source)
               | 
               | > Ohio - SaaS is taxable for business use in Ohio and
               | non-taxable for personal use. (Source)
               | 
               | > Pennsylvania - SaaS is taxable in Pennsylvania.
               | (Source)
               | 
               | > Rhode Island - SaaS is taxable in Rhode Island.
               | (Source)
               | 
               | > South Carolina - SaaS is considered a taxable service
               | in South Carolina, as are other charges to access a
               | website. (Source)
               | 
               | > South Dakota - SaaS is considered a taxable service in
               | South Dakota, as are other charges to access software.
               | (Source)
               | 
               | > Tennessee - SaaS is taxable in Tennessee. (Source)
               | 
               | > Texas - SaaS is considered part of a data processing
               | service in Texas and is 80% taxable and 20% exempt from
               | sales tax. (Source)
               | 
               | > Utah - SaaS is taxable in Utah. (Source)
               | 
               | > Washington - SaaS is taxable in Washington since all
               | software, delivered by whatever means, is considered
               | taxable in the state. (Source)
               | 
               | > Washington D.C. - SaaS is considered a taxable service
               | in Washington D.C. (Source)
               | 
               | > West Virginia - SaaS is considered a taxable service in
               | West Virginia. (Source)
               | 
               | https://www.taxjar.com/sales-tax/saas-sales-tax
               | 
               | SaaS is also far from the only industry Stripe serves.
               | But even if it were, close to half the states require
               | taxes on it in some way, shape or form. Meaning it's not
               | nearly as negligible as you're making it seem.
               | 
               | I also want to reiterate the bar is "very small fraction
               | of total payment volume". _Very small_ really implies
               | single or low double digit percentage. While some of the
               | biggest states are missing, you still have around 40% of
               | the population represented in those states. It seems very
               | unlikely, even with tech 's concentration in California,
               | that 40% of the population results in "very small
               | fraction of total payment volume".
        
       | [deleted]
        
       | s17n wrote:
       | Not exactly on topic but Lago has been killing it when it comes
       | to making the HN front page, nice job.
        
         | AnhTho_FR wrote:
         | Thanks
        
       | stevehawk wrote:
       | I know that I started and _shutdown_ a company through Stripe
       | Atlas a year and a half ago and they 're still charging me
       | recurring fees for it. I'm not convinced that Atlas was ever
       | fully thought out on their end and I regret using it.
        
         | mkaic wrote:
         | Fellow Stripe Atlas-er here. I have no experience with
         | corporate _anything_ and started my C Corp because I won the
         | Pioneer Tournament and they said I had to to give them a 1%
         | SAFE to claim my winnings, even though I 'd made it clear I did
         | not intend to try to monetize my project at all. The company
         | has literally done zero things since inception except cost me
         | money for my registered agent, Delaware corporation tax, and
         | having to pay someone to file taxes for $0 of income because I
         | am too terrified of the tax legal system to do it myself.
         | 
         | If you don't mind me asking, what was your process for
         | dissolving the corporation? I'd love to shut down mine but last
         | time I looked it up I got bogged down in all the legalese about
         | Notices of Dissolution and Board Approval and all that jazz.
        
         | edwinwee wrote:
         | There's no charge to use Stripe after the $500 Atlas fee to
         | form a company. What fees are you seeing? If you've maintained
         | a presence in Delaware, perhaps you're still paying for your
         | registered agent? (You can also email me at edwin@stripe.com
         | and we can look into this.)
        
         | Aeolun wrote:
         | Why are they charging you for something that doesn't exist? Is
         | it a mistake on their end?
        
         | lvl102 wrote:
         | Yeah Stripe is a joke considering its size. I much rather use
         | Square which is saying a lot because that is also a poorly run
         | company. Fintech space is a big joke. They were selling more
         | fluid payment platforms with less fees/cost to consumers.
         | Instead all-in prices have actually gone up.
        
           | mschuster91 wrote:
           | > Fintech space is a big joke.
           | 
           | Almost as if all the "meatspace banking" regulations had
           | their purpose, born out of decades of experience with the
           | many, MANY, M A N Y weird edge cases that crop up sooner or
           | later.
           | 
           | Not to say that the meatspace regulations and practices are
           | fine (from an European POV, the fact y'all still use literal
           | paper cheques instead of bank transfers and credit cards
           | instead of direct debit because consumer protection is way
           | easier on CCs), but still... it's amazing none of the
           | fintechs ever really got hit hard by regulation agencies
           | despite the continuous complaints.
        
       | gilrain wrote:
       | As a retail customer, there are three payment processors which I
       | notice "convert" me into a sale more often purely because I'm
       | confident the process will be fast, safe, convenient, and
       | familiar: Apple Pay, Stripe, and Square.
       | 
       | I would have been surprised to learn that they _aren't_ priced at
       | a premium on the back end, because they certainly feel better and
       | more trustworthy.
        
         | apankrat wrote:
         | As a retail online vendor - PayPal is the fourth.
         | 
         | Did an AB test a while back and mere presence of the PayPal
         | option boosts sales through all other options _plus_ generates
         | extra sales through PayPal itself. Not something that I was
         | expecting at all, but the confidence level was over 99%.
        
       | noasaservice wrote:
       | What I would love is a USPS money solution. Extremely low fees,
       | just works, hooked up with USPS. Fraud would be under bank AND
       | mail fraud.
       | 
       | All these companies in this realm are vultures. They add nothing
       | - they just take their cut to do something that should be easy.
        
       | dkyc wrote:
       | Working at a company that is currently making this decision, I
       | appreciate the blog post. That being said, I absolutely don't see
       | how they arrive at their numbers. They state that SaaS founders
       | routinely pay "4-8% of revenue" to stripe. Then their own
       | calculation ends up at 4.2% of revenue using a combination of
       | _all_ Stripe services possible (Billing, Payments, Tax, Data
       | Pipeline). Where are the other ~4% supposed to come from?
       | 
       | If anything, the calculation is overstating the realistically
       | expected cost in a few ways:
       | 
       | - Particularly B2B SaaS will likely have some % of invoice/bank
       | transfer payment. Assuming 100% payment via credit card is a
       | 'worst-case' assessment.
       | 
       | - Even given that, the bulk of the cost are credit card
       | processing fees, which you would pay either way. Maybe not
       | exactly at stripe's rate, but something similar.
       | 
       | - _Stripe Tax_ for example doesn 't charge 0.5% of revenue flat.
       | It only charges for revenue _where you're registered to collect
       | taxes_ , which for an international business will be far from
       | every transaction (depends on locality & customer base, of
       | course). In addition to that, the pricing drops to 0.4% if you
       | process more than $50k per month.
       | 
       | All in all, I appreciate the effort, but given that Lago is a
       | stripe competitor, this calculation dressed up as a 'neutral
       | assessment' on Github seems disingenuous and makes me trust them
       | less.
        
         | croes wrote:
         | They state that SaaS founders said it's 4-8%. It's not their
         | statement but the SaaS founders
         | 
         | >We asked this question to dozens of SaaS founders and none of
         | them was able to provide a precise figure. Answers ranged from
         | 4 to 8% of their revenue.
        
           | dkyc wrote:
           | Well, for reasons stated I don't believe it was a fair and
           | representative sample then, and that 4% is closer to the
           | upper bound than the lower. Also no idea how "no one was able
           | to give a precise figure" - go into stripe dashboard, open
           | most recent invoice, divide amount paid through payments
           | processed (which are both stated right there on the invoice!)
           | 
           | I'm a B2B SaaS founder and paid 2.7% to stripe last month.
           | OP, feel free to update post with new lower bound.
        
             | pattrn wrote:
             | I'm a B2C SAAS founder and paid 7.1% to Stripe last month.
        
         | notatoad wrote:
         | >this calculation dressed up as a 'neutral assessment' on
         | Github seems disingenuous and makes me trust them less
         | 
         | agreed. they have a corporate blog on their site, so there's no
         | reason that advertorial content like this couldn't be posted
         | there. posting on github just seems like a dirty trick to add
         | authority to marketing content. and it feels especially dirty
         | because they don't share their own pricing to compare it to.
        
           | that_guy_iain wrote:
           | Why would GitHub add authority? It only really helps when
           | your target audience is technical. But choosing payment
           | providers is not a technical decision for lots of companies.
        
             | lolinder wrote:
             | Stripe's initial success was largely driven by technical
             | people pushing for it because of how easy their API was.
             | Don't underestimate the impact of technical leadership on
             | decisions like this:
             | 
             | > "For us it was quite visceral: these products are not
             | serving the needs of the customers, so let's build
             | something better," John Collison argues. "In old-fashioned
             | legacy companies it's the CFO choosing the payments system.
             | They think all systems are alike, so they just sort the
             | bids from suppliers. But if ... you have a two-person team,
             | both of you writing relatively complex code and solving
             | complex infrastructural problem, you need a simple payments
             | API that - once installed - doesn't keep changing."
             | 
             | > ... The company grew swiftly, driven largely by word-of-
             | mouth between developers.
             | 
             | https://www.wired.co.uk/article/stripe-payments-apple-
             | amazon...
        
             | lcnPylGDnU4H9OF wrote:
             | I might understand the reasoning that it could have reduced
             | authority if hosted on their blog. Their branding makes
             | them more recognizable, which makes them more likely to be
             | noticed as a competitor, which removes neutrality.
        
             | notatoad wrote:
             | elsewhere in this thread, there's a tweet where OP is
             | bragging about getting three articles onto the front page
             | of HN this week. Whatever this audience is, we are
             | apparently the target.
        
             | JohnBooty wrote:
             | Why would GitHub add authority?
             | 
             | Well, there's no real reason it would. But I'll admit: it
             | did fool me into thinking it was some neutral source.
             | 
             | (To be clear, I was just casually browsing HN on a work
             | break, not actually shopping for a payment solution and
             | reading with diligence)
        
             | satvikpendem wrote:
             | > _It only really helps when your target audience is
             | technical._
             | 
             | Their product is an "Open Source Metering & Usage-Based
             | Billing" solution on that Github repo, so it does seem like
             | they're using posts on Github to drive people to use their
             | product.
        
         | plantain wrote:
         | Forced currency conversion. International fees versus local.
         | Low average charge (so the per tx fee is more significant)
        
         | ecedeno wrote:
         | "+33c per transaction"
         | 
         | For a B2B SaaS this likely represents a minuscule percentage of
         | the revenue. For a $5/month subscription, this fee alone is
         | more than 6%
        
           | dkyc wrote:
           | You are right, and I see how that would push up the bill as %
           | of revenue.
           | 
           | That being said, this has nothing to do with stripe's
           | software platform which this article focuses on, and all to
           | do with credit card payment fees. Braintree charges "2.59% +
           | $.49 per transaction". PayPal charges "3.49% + $.49 per
           | transaction". Square payments charges "2.9% + $.30 per
           | transaction".
        
             | GeneralTspoon wrote:
             | PayPal offers a micropayments option (5% + $0.05) - which
             | reduces overall cost for businesses where the fixed fee
             | eats a major part of their revenue.
        
               | SXX wrote:
               | Is PayPal work for small SaaS at all especially one with
               | micropayments? I fear such business would generate more
               | refunds than usually and PayPal is much worse when it's
               | come to blocking your account and freezing your funds.
        
             | kuschku wrote:
             | Girocard (in person) is 0.25%. GiroPay is 0.09EUR per
             | transaction, no matter how large. PayDirekt is 0.35EUR per
             | transaction, no matter how large. SEPA Debit is about
             | 0.10EUR as well.
             | 
             | Why are US-based payment services so fucking expensive?
        
               | mardifoufs wrote:
               | Debit card transactions are basically free in the US too.
        
               | astura wrote:
               | The EU has a cap on interchange fees, by law. The US has
               | no such law, so they charge more, because they can.
               | 
               | Some of the interchange fees are paid back to the
               | customer in the form of cash back and other perks and
               | rewards.
        
               | blntechie wrote:
               | I assume because the US credit card customers are
               | obsessed with reward points and miles and it need to be
               | paid by someone. It's usually the merchants through high
               | MDR. The merchants pass on the costs to the card
               | customers or debit card/cash payers.
        
               | SeripisChad wrote:
               | Prior to those gimmicks the rates where higher than now.
               | I hoped Google to follow through with their pricing cuts,
               | but yielded rather quickly.
        
               | fredophile wrote:
               | As a consumer in the US I always pay with a credit card
               | when I can. The businesses have already baked the credit
               | card fees into their pricing so I might as well get a few
               | percent back from my card plus the extra purchase
               | protection, etc.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | There are companies that offer lower prices when paying
               | cash/debit specifically to only charge the credit card
               | fees to those using credit cards.
               | 
               | It used to be a big thing in the US at gas stations where
               | they advertised the 2 different prices. I don't know the
               | details, but at some point that stopped happening. I was
               | under the impression some rule change, but it is making a
               | come back. I don't know if some consumer protection laws
               | were made the revoked or whatnot, but it is possible to
               | not have to automatically be charged for credit card fees
               | if you're not using credit.
        
               | jonasdegendt wrote:
               | > It used to be a big thing in the US at gas stations
               | 
               | Hah, as a European that lived in California for a while
               | this always seemed so odd to me. I just dug up a picture
               | of my car that I took at a gas station, and there's
               | prices in the background: Cash $2.94, Credit $3.11, for
               | regular gas, and the date on the picture is the 4th of
               | July, 2017. That's quite the difference but roughly in
               | line with credit card fees.
               | 
               | It makes sense that gas stations would do this, it's a
               | pretty slim margin business.
        
               | ghaff wrote:
               | You still sometimes see this. My understanding is that
               | it's usually against merchant credit card contracts
               | however. You also used to see cash only stations but
               | that's almost certainly vanishingly rare these days.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | based on experiences with vending machines, could you
               | imagine the nightmare of cash only pay-at-the-pump?
               | <shudder> we'd have gas lines like the 70s not because of
               | shortages, but just from people trying to pull their
               | bills along the corner of the pump to flatten them out.
        
               | mixmastamyk wrote:
               | Doesn't preclude a cashier that typically still exists.
               | Also Arco had cash machines up until a few years ago and
               | I never encountered a line at one.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | psst, look up. over your head was a joke. nothing to be
               | taken seriously. we have cashierless grocery stores,
               | hardware stores, and every other store. why would you
               | think a late night 24/7 gas station wouldn't go
               | cashierless too?
        
               | mixmastamyk wrote:
               | Need to work on your jokes. ;) The reason is that a
               | significant amount of the profit is in the convenience
               | store. Also security reasons... someone to call the
               | police.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | have you honestly never seen a cashierless gas station?
               | you suggest that convenience store is profit center, but
               | as you say, those have to be staffed. what do the numbers
               | look like if it's just gas with cashless pumps and no
               | staff? then, raise the rates of the fuel because
               | "shortages", and I can see it being profitable for less
               | headache. i can think of at least 3 of these stations
               | within 20 miles of me. potentially faster turnover as you
               | don't have people parking at the pump while they spend 15
               | mins inside. there's a lot of interesting positive
               | aspects to this, and it seems that more are willing to
               | try it.
        
               | slashink wrote:
               | Credit card reward systems & points are not free. Comes
               | at the cost of higher transaction fees that eventually
               | get passed on to the customer.
               | 
               | I've found these schemes much less prevalent in Europe
               | (with the exception of AMEX, but half of the vendors in
               | Europe seems to not accept that anyway).
               | 
               | On top of that, in the EU, interchange fees are capped to
               | 0.3% of the transaction for credit cards and to 0.2% for
               | debit cards. This prevents it from becoming the points
               | hell of the US market.
        
               | kuschku wrote:
               | Girocard was actually still significantly cheaper than
               | the capped credit and debit cards (0.125% end-to-end cost
               | (!)), and yet now we're seeing banks drop it because
               | MasterCard has threatened to stop business with any bank
               | that doesn't drop it.
               | 
               | IMO, the EU should either break up MasterCard & VISA,
               | nationalize them, or build their own system (maybe unify
               | Girocard, Dankort, etc?) and make that mandatory.
               | 
               | The difference between the MasterCard & VISA fees and
               | e.g. Girocard fees is almost 2%. That's equivalent to
               | paying an additional 2% tax on everything.
               | 
               | With that amount of money we could make all transit in
               | the EU entirely free of charge and expand it quite a bit,
               | yet all it's doing right now is make some rich assholes
               | even richer.
        
               | ghaff wrote:
               | Although I'm pretty sure most of the rewards go to people
               | willing to pay for premium cards because they make a lot
               | of transactions. Do the people with free credit cards
               | subsidize them? Maybe but it's not obvious. Of course,
               | the people with the biggest reward cards are probably not
               | paying much interest or late fees either.
        
               | NavinF wrote:
               | > Do the people with free credit cards subsidize them?
               | 
               | Depends on the card. Interchange fees are much lower for
               | basic cards so if you get at least 2% cashback, that's
               | break-even. Of course cards with annual fees get a lot
               | more rewards in the form of transferable airline points
               | and have much higher interchange fees to cover that.
        
               | iancarroll wrote:
               | The interchange fee differences between credit card types
               | are not very high, usually around 0.5%. You can see the
               | public Visa interchange rates at https://usa.visa.com/con
               | tent/dam/VCOM/download/merchants/vis.... Credit card
               | companies play a lot of games with this too and will
               | "upgrade" your card type if they think it's worth it,
               | even if you don't make any changes.
               | 
               | The biggest variances involve non-exempt (Durbin
               | amendment) debit cards.
        
               | NavinF wrote:
               | Ah I thought the interchange rates would be 1% higher for
               | the best cards, not 0.5% higher
               | 
               | I guess the lowest tier cards really do subsidize the
               | rest.
        
               | chinathrow wrote:
               | > Credit card reward systems & points are not free.
               | 
               | I always treat them as a system for the corruption of
               | myself. They pay me to use their card (for a payment!!!)
               | and therefore I get corrupted and I become part of the
               | problem.
        
               | bel_marinaio wrote:
               | Why are so many things better in the EU?
        
               | wpietri wrote:
               | A historian, Walter McDougall, author of the excellent
               | "Let the Sea Make a Noise", was planning to write a
               | history of America around the duality of the word
               | "hustle", which can mean both "energetic, go get 'em
               | attitude" and "scam". In America we are very accepting of
               | anti-social or exploitative behavior as long as
               | somebody's getting rich.
               | 
               | I also think a lot about the term "puffery", which in
               | American law is when companies make false claims about a
               | product, but in a fashion where everybody is assumed to
               | know that they're lying, which makes it ok:
               | https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puffery
               | 
               | It really says something to me that we supposedly have
               | such a deep expectation of commercial lies that it's
               | acceptable. I think in a healthier country someone would
               | say, "Wait, what if they just didn't lie?"
        
               | jhdhjdkjdhcfnj wrote:
               | it's a way to exhert maximum control with minimal effort
               | (in this case, talking about flow of capital)
               | 
               | https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normalization_(sociology)
        
               | AnhTho_FR wrote:
               | Haha EU isn't perfect, but from a super high-level and
               | personal point of view (and there are millions of nuances
               | within Europe), but generally there's more emphasis on
               | the common good as a society, than what I've seen in the
               | US
               | 
               | (I grew up in France but part of my family lives in the
               | US).
        
               | nightpool wrote:
               | All of the services you mentioned are debit cards, not
               | credit cards. US debit cards are basically free as well,
               | it's just that nobody uses them.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | >it's just that nobody uses them.
               | 
               | that's a bold claim. not everyone bows down to the uber
               | robber barons of the credit companies. i have no credit
               | cards and am surviving life just fine thank you very
               | much. i know i'm not alone.
        
               | optymizer wrote:
               | this discussion would be more productive with some data:
               | 
               | * 83% of adults have at least one credit card
               | 
               | * 41% adults actually used a credit card in 2020
               | 
               | https://www.federalreserve.gov/publications/2021-economic
               | -we...
        
               | ivalm wrote:
               | 41% had credit card debt, presumably a larger amount used
               | them.
        
               | ghaff wrote:
               | Right. Unpaid balance over at least one month. Although
               | some people probably just have a credit card for
               | emergency purposes, I assume that most people who have a
               | credit card do use it over the course of a year.
        
               | ivalm wrote:
               | absolutely, just replying to the poster saying that only
               | 41% used a credit card, which would imply majority of
               | americans don't.
        
               | dylan604 wrote:
               | There's a bit of HN bias here. Just thinking of the lower
               | income or non-white side of the country. So many people
               | don't even have a checking account (4.5% households or
               | 5.9million )[0] let alone a debit card. There's no way
               | they have credit cards.
               | 
               | While it may be a low percentage number, 5-7million
               | people is not "nobody". Question I would stipulate would
               | be adults vs minors in that number.
               | 
               | [0]https://news.yahoo.com/number-americans-without-bank-
               | account... (households translates to how many people?) [1
               | ]https://www.gao.gov/blog/more-7-million-u.-s.-households
               | -hav... (7.1million from April 2022)
        
               | philsnow wrote:
               | > it's just that nobody uses [debit cards]
               | 
               | Nobody in your bubble. Just off the top of my head I know
               | a couple people who don't have a single credit card, one
               | is mid-50s, one just turned 70.
               | 
               | > US debit cards are basically free
               | 
               | I agree that they're basically free to process payments
               | from, but there are invisible costs to the cardholder
               | associated with using them vs credit cards (less buyer
               | protection, overdraft storms if you accidentally zero
               | your account).
               | 
               | I'm not aware of any downsides of keeping at least one or
               | two credit cards, except for the potential to put oneself
               | in debt. Unfortunately for some people, keeping a credit
               | card is untenable because they're unable to stop
               | themselves from using them.
        
               | nightpool wrote:
               | Actually, I don't even have a credit card myself. My
               | comment was about observing the general behavior of
               | businesses I frequent--only one (a cost-conscious grocery
               | store) won't take credit cards. I've just never needed to
               | go through the hassle of getting one, myself.
               | 
               | Absolutely agree re: cardholder costs. In addition it
               | what you said about fees and liability (although I'm
               | lucky to have a bank that doesn't charge overdraft fees),
               | I'm probably leaving a fair bit of money on the table
               | that I could be making back up with credit card rewards /
               | incentives if I wanted to spend the time on it. My
               | comment was only about costs to the merchant, since
               | that's what GP was talking about.
        
             | ericd wrote:
             | This is one of the major reasons I think that the lightning
             | network backed by bitcoin could actually be useful, vs the
             | totally useless waste of energy that everyone on here seems
             | to believe it is - the fees are basically a tiny fraction
             | of a cent, and so it could make it economically viable to
             | have payments <$1, which currently isn't really the case
             | with the credit card networks.
        
               | ivalm wrote:
               | Maybe, but really it would just push credit cards to be
               | cheaper. Fundamentally credit card processing tech is
               | cheaper than lightning network (in terms of compute).
               | Pushing CC to be cheaper ofc is a good in and of itself.
        
             | Dand313 wrote:
             | I think they are comparing to MoRs like fastspring or
             | paddle where the % is higher?
        
             | newaccount74 wrote:
             | It's important to consider when you compare with App Stores
             | or resellers that charge a flat fee of 15%-30%.
             | 
             | Another important factor that is missing is currency
             | exchange rates. I don't know how Stripe handles them, but
             | they always resulted in mysteriously missing money in my
             | experience.
        
               | withinboredom wrote:
               | Sign you business up for something like Wise and take the
               | money in its original form without conversion fees. In my
               | experience, wiring up webhooks + API on wise to automate
               | back to your own currency is less expensive than stripe.
               | YMMV
        
             | Terretta wrote:
             | It would be good if people remembered these piecemeal costs
             | when comparing to Google Play or Apple App Store particular
             | in year 2+ of a subscription user.
             | 
             | At that point, the mobile app store offering is effectively
             | costing well under 10%.
        
         | deegles wrote:
         | It can be up to 30% if they freeze your account for "suspicious
         | activity." This is currently happening to someone I know who's
         | had all of their November sales frozen. They say Stripe _might_
         | return 70% of the funds... in February. They 're trying to
         | reach a human but no luck so far.
        
           | Alupis wrote:
           | > This is currently happening to someone I know who's had all
           | of their November sales frozen
           | 
           | Why on earth is this person not sweeping nightly into their
           | business bank account? Never leave money in your processor
           | account... they are not your bank!
           | 
           | This is the same stuff people complain about with PayPal -
           | failing to realize this scenario (to this extent where it's
           | threatening your business) is almost entirely the business
           | operator's fault due to a severe lack of understanding of how
           | to use a processor.
           | 
           | My guess is this person's processor account went from small
           | benign numbers and then suddenly had a surge of business
           | (possibly seasonal). This sudden increase in volume can (and
           | will) trigger anti-fraud audits from your processor if you do
           | not already have a well established history with them. You go
           | through it, and move on. Generally it's not an issue if you
           | sweep nightly!
           | 
           | Spread the word - your payment processor is _not_ your bank.
           | Sweep nightly, it 's almost always a free service they offer.
        
             | rstupek wrote:
             | Stripe auto sweeps but not nightly. Not sure you have any
             | control over when they sweep funds over
        
               | Alupis wrote:
               | Stripe does support nightly sweeps, and according to
               | their documentation[1] it's the default when you enable
               | sweeping.
               | 
               | [1] https://support.stripe.com/questions/understanding-
               | daily-aut...
        
               | chinathrow wrote:
               | I can set daily/weekly or monthly payouts just fine.
        
             | satvikpendem wrote:
             | > _Never leave money in your processor account... they are
             | not your bank!_
             | 
             | Reminds me of crypto exchanges too. Don't leave money in an
             | exchange, use it to, well, _exchange_ money, then move it
             | to your bank account or wallet.
        
           | aliswe wrote:
           | Are you serious? This is very concerning
        
             | capableweb wrote:
             | Absolutely, payment providers block/suspend accounts left
             | and right, and you're out of luck to find any humans to
             | talk to. If you manage to find a human, 99% chance is that
             | it triggered something in their "anti fraud" systems and
             | then they'll simply state "We can't tell you why, and we
             | can't unsuspend your account, sorry".
             | 
             | Best course of action I've found, is to build your initial
             | MVP with one payment provider but as soon as you've
             | validated there is a market and before you move on with
             | other features, add a backup provider you can switch to at
             | any time because chances are you will get blocked at one
             | point. If not permanent, at least temporary.
             | 
             | If you're clever enough when you build the initial
             | integration, you make sure to abstract out the specific
             | payment provider so it's easy to plug in a new one.
             | Shouldn't add too much complexity.
             | 
             | Sucks but the reality we live in...
        
               | viggity wrote:
               | This happens far too often. And because stripe handles
               | the PCI compliance, you can't even take your customer's
               | CC info to another merchant account. This is why people
               | need to be using a PCI tokenizer like BasisTheory. Then
               | you own the rights to the CC, without needing to handle
               | PCI compliance, and you can switch vendors easily.
        
               | jhdhjdkjdhcfnj wrote:
               | nice try mr sales person.
               | 
               | PCI tokenizer is pure snake oil.
               | 
               | "dear auditor, i do not store the credit card number,
               | only an unique index to fetch it at any time on this rest
               | service. i promisse it is totally not the same thing"
               | 
               | good luck trying to make thay avoid compliance work.
        
               | krallja wrote:
               | > you can't even take your customer's CC info to another
               | merchant account
               | 
               | Blatant FUD. https://support.stripe.com/questions/export-
               | customer-card-da...
        
               | atdrummond wrote:
               | I ran a medium/high risk payments firm and Stripe
               | followed through on customers' transfer requests perhaps
               | 10% of the time. One cannot rely on it.
        
               | posguy wrote:
               | For low risk clients, were the results different? Which
               | platforms (First Data, Tsys, etc) and ISO (FDMS, Gravity,
               | Bank of America, etc) were you seeing success with?
               | 
               | I don't think the average ISO has the knowledge let alone
               | a published set of credentials to receive card data, the
               | ISO industry really sticks to the tooling platforms
               | provide.
        
               | theturtletalks wrote:
               | This works for normal payment processing, but Connect is
               | something that doesn't have a viable alternative. Lago
               | wants to abstract the Connect functionality and allow you
               | to use Stripe Payments, Paypal, other processors, and get
               | the Connect functionality to be open-source. Looking
               | forward to their work and it is sorely needed.
        
               | eloff wrote:
               | Completely agree, that's why this Lago is interesting to
               | me instead of using Stripe services. I'd rather use
               | Stripe for the bare minimum so I can implement support
               | for a backup provider as well.
        
               | zie wrote:
               | I generally agree, but if you go through the process at
               | your bank and get your own merchant account(it's a long
               | drawn out process), then the risk for the
               | bank/visa/mastercard/etc is much, much less, and you can
               | generally always reach out to humans and get answers.
               | It's worth the headache if you live or die on credit card
               | payments.
        
               | ryanbrunner wrote:
               | If you have recurring payments, moving the payment
               | methods over is a non-trivial amount of time and
               | coordination to get done (and I'm not even sure how
               | cooperative Stripe will be if you're on a fraud radar
               | somewhere), and usually only involves the raw methods
               | themselves, stuff like subscriptions you'll need to
               | rebuild.
               | 
               | I don't think it's a bad idea necessarily, but it's very
               | difficult to almost impossible to make this a "flip the
               | switch" setup, particularly for SaaS businesses which are
               | almost always recurring payments.
               | 
               | We're a largish Connect user and for us the key thing is
               | just establishing good relationships with reps in the
               | company and maintaining those. We've had a couple of
               | customers run into freezes and other issues and while
               | standard support is basically a brick wall in those
               | cases, getting someone internal to escalate can be hugely
               | beneficial.
        
             | jgust wrote:
             | You either die a hero or live long enough to become Paypal.
        
               | Spivak wrote:
               | live long enough to understand why Paypal became Paypal.
        
               | steve_adams_86 wrote:
               | Is the answer simply money?
        
               | aga98mtl wrote:
               | No, the answer is that credit cards allow chargebacks for
               | up to 180 days. Stripe or Paypal is betting on your
               | honesty by allowing you to withdraw sooner. Stray out of
               | their secret "safe" behavior allowed and they deem the
               | risk too high.
        
               | YetAnotherNick wrote:
               | Is there any processor which puts the funds to
               | themselves, with the legal binding that unless customer
               | charge backs I will get the money after the chargeback
               | period? Seems like this could save payment processor with
               | lot of headaches while reducing their fees.
        
               | 35mm wrote:
               | Probably not because it would be hard for most businesses
               | to wait 180 days to get paid.
        
               | Alupis wrote:
               | Also... new accounts that experience sudden surges of
               | transactions without well established seasonal patterns
               | and account history are very risky for all processors.
               | 
               | The processor has to protect themselves from being used
               | in some sort of Carding-Farm Scheme, has to protect other
               | merchants from the processor being cut off by issuers
               | (for having too many fraudulent
               | transactions/chargebacks), and protect actual Card
               | Holder's from fraud (since the processor/merchant
               | ultimately are responsible for the chargeback).
               | 
               | People are always surprised when their new account with a
               | few hundred a day in revenue suddenly surges to thousands
               | a day in a short period, and the processor wants to
               | investigate why...
               | 
               | Use the tools freely provided by your processor to
               | protect yourself. Sweep the balance into your business
               | bank account every single day - it's usually automatable
               | and free. There is never a reason to store more than 24
               | hours of revenue in a processor account... they are not a
               | bank!
        
           | iJohnDoe wrote:
           | It's a bummer that Stripe didn't enter the market to be
           | better than this and to bring something new to the table.
        
           | tiffanyh wrote:
           | Isn't the a function of not having your own merchant account?
           | By using Stripe, you're actually just a sub-account to them.
        
         | chinathrow wrote:
         | If you let Stripe convert e.g. USD (when you charge USD) to
         | your local currency (when you run your account e.g. in EUR),
         | then you pay them another 2% for that convenience.
         | 
         | I switched to Wise and pay now an order of magnitude less for
         | that.
        
           | the_chatman wrote:
        
         | username_my1 wrote:
         | I genuinely don't understand why anyone would use stripe for
         | any scaled up business compared to adyen for example.
         | 
         | stripe has a lot of value for out of the box integration, but
         | if you're running your own custom solution you will need to put
         | the same effort to integrate stripe at a 3x cost compared to
         | adyen.
         | 
         | I understand it's a silicon valley thing and most likely those
         | who use it don't get the same public pricing other people get,
         | but aside from branding stripe is extremely expensive compared
         | to comparable solutions.
         | 
         | and 4% of your top line is a huge thing to pay
        
           | emptysea wrote:
           | I'm pretty sure adyen requires a decent amount of volume
           | before they will allow you to use them, like in the 10s of
           | millions.
           | 
           | Stripe provides self serve with is nice for getting started
           | and I'm guessing once you're big enough to jump to adyen, you
           | can likely get a discount on the sticker price since you have
           | bargaining power
        
           | makeitdouble wrote:
           | It's been a long time, but having dealt with Adyen a few
           | years ago my take away was they are way more punishing
           | regarding your implementation (we had calls randomly fail,
           | users not getting redirected, notifications out of order
           | etc.), with more options but also more rope to hang yourself.
           | 
           | Those are all use cases we needed to cover either way and we
           | did, but errors were part of the routine more than
           | exceptional events. In comparison Stripe was way smoother and
           | documentation/support a lot easier to grasp.
        
             | username_my1 wrote:
             | We've been a customer for 7 years now and it has been
             | exceptionally stable setup
             | 
             | But yes their documentation can be a bit poor around the
             | edges and if you don't really know what you're doing
        
           | dkyc wrote:
           | Is it really though? It very much depends on your definition
           | of 'scaled up'. Sure, you wouldn't run a Fortune 500's
           | payment processing through stripe's public pricing plan.
           | 
           | But for a $10M SaaS startup, this would come to $350k/yr
           | (assuming some amount of non-credit-card and non-taxed
           | payments). I would say at least 60% of that you would pay
           | anyway to other payments processors, even doing all the
           | software stack yourself (nothing is free in the world of
           | finance, after all). So that leaves you with $140k p.a. for a
           | software stack that covers billing UI, invoicing, taxes,
           | financial reporting. It's far from obvious how you can come
           | up with a comparable solution yourself with a budget of at
           | most 0.5 developers and 0.5 designers that your $140k would
           | get you.
        
             | username_my1 wrote:
             | Yes 160k extra a year out of 10m is a lot
        
               | treewalking wrote:
               | If it costs 1 extra human to build everything you're
               | losing money leaving Stripe.
        
               | YetAnotherNick wrote:
               | If someone has revenue $10M per year, I guess it would be
               | more than 1. Also probably they would get discount in
               | stripe if some trusted business has revenue in that
               | range.
        
               | etothepii wrote:
               | That rather depends on gross margin.
        
         | MuffinFlavored wrote:
         | > - Particularly B2B SaaS will likely have some % of
         | invoice/bank transfer payment.
         | 
         | At what price point? I would imagine anything lower than...
         | $200/mo? $500/mo? isn't worth ACH setup?
         | 
         | I could be wrong. Would love to hear relevant experience on
         | what the cutoff is.
        
         | gizmo wrote:
         | > all Stripe services possible (Billing, Payments, Tax, Data
         | Pipeline). Where are the other ~4% supposed to come from?
         | 
         | Stripe Radar, Stripe Identity, Stripe Sigma? It all adds up.
        
           | dkyc wrote:
           | Even including those, I don't see how you would get to 8%.
           | Apart from the fact that 'Stripe Identity' isn't something
           | I'd expect a standard SaaS company to need (or a tool like
           | Lago to provide), the cost simply isn't that high. Radar and
           | Sigma together for 1,000 monthly transactions adds like ~$130
           | to your monthly bill.
           | 
           | I challenge the authors of this blog post to provide me a
           | Stripe product setup that would result in an $8,000 monthly
           | cost for a $100,000 MRR SaaS company. It must be very
           | unusual.
        
             | sodality2 wrote:
             | I pay 15% fees because of a very low subscription fee
             | ($2.50).
             | 
             | 2.5 * 0.029 = 0.0725 + 0.3 = 0.3725 / 2.5 = 14.9%
        
               | jessaustin wrote:
               | Have you tried encouraging longer subscriptions through
               | steep discounts?
        
               | sodality2 wrote:
               | Yep. I offer a yearly plan for $26. My customers are
               | split almost exactly half and half with monthly and
               | yearly subscribers
        
               | tyingq wrote:
               | They also don't refund fees when a customer wants a
               | refund.
        
         | the_chatman wrote:
        
         | pattrn wrote:
         | As a single sample: my SAAS startup pays just over 7% to
         | Stripe.
        
           | krallja wrote:
           | Good grief, talk to your account rep.
        
         | AnhTho_FR wrote:
         | Hi dkyc, OP here. Sorry to read this was your impression, two
         | points:
         | 
         | 1/ To prevent such a feeling, we've included this disclaimer at
         | the beginning of the post, (i) to state where we stand vs
         | Stripe, (ii) the source data is Stripe's pricing, happy to
         | share more details about the hypothesis
         | 
         | "Disclaimer: This analysis is based on Stripe's public pricing
         | as of July 21, 2022. Some merchants may be able to negotiate
         | fees or benefit from grandfathered plans. Lago partners with
         | 'Stripe Payments' and can be used as a complement or
         | replacement of 'Stripe Billing'."
         | 
         | 2/ I think below comments (to be clear: comments from people
         | completely unrelated to Lago) show how you can reach 4 to 8%.
         | It's also one of the reasons why 'Paddle' is an attractive
         | solution in Europe, it's an all-in-one solution that takes 5-6%
         | on revenue and provides subscription management, payments,
         | invoicing, tax management.
         | 
         | Let us know if you need more info, or if you have feedback on
         | what we could have done differently. In any case, I genuinely
         | appreciate that you took the time to comment!
        
           | dkyc wrote:
           | Thanks for the reply! I just couldn't follow how you end up
           | paying 8% to stripe, save some _very_ non-standard
           | requirements or setup. You can relieve my concerns by telling
           | me the stripe product setup that results in a $100k MRR SaaS
           | company to pay $8k per month to stripe. Might very well be
           | that I 'm overlooking something!
           | 
           | Otherwise, the "no one knows exactly how much but up to 8%"
           | framing reads like FUD to me.
        
             | AnhTho_FR wrote:
             | Got it! Will iterate on the article based on your inputs,
             | thanks for the constructive feedback!
        
               | danielskogly wrote:
               | Just a heads up that "More about our story here." at the
               | very end is a 404: https://www.getlago.com/company/about-
               | us
        
               | AnhTho_FR wrote:
               | Thanks a lot! I've just fixed it, it was supposed to
               | redirect to https://www.getlago.com/about-us
        
             | Silhouette wrote:
             | _I just couldn 't follow how you end up paying 8% to
             | stripe, save some very non-standard requirements or setup._
             | 
             | You can easily get close to that if you run a B2C
             | subscription service charging at typical consumer price
             | points - think Netflix but small enough to pay Stripe its
             | standard fees - and you're outside the US so you have a lot
             | of international cards and currency conversions to deal
             | with.
        
       | [deleted]
        
       ___________________________________________________________________
       (page generated 2022-12-09 23:00 UTC)